Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lowe's.

Garden Treasures Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle

Easy to assembleCan be mounted on post or poleKeeps critters away from your bird feed
Average Customer Rating:
3.674 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
31 out of 46(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Review 1 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Effective baffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:MD
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:July 21, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Lowes for this inexpensive, but effective squirrel baffle. I had had it with fighting squirrels that I was ready for target practice. I bought this baffle, attached it beneath my bird feeders and "laugh" everytime the squirrels climb up the feeder pole and instantly fall off because of the baffle. I am very pleased with this product! I thoroughly enjoy watching the birds at their feeders. Thanks again, Lowes!
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Actually liked this baffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Jenison Michigan
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:May 11, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Placed this baffle on the pole below my feeder. After trial and error realized must have the correct placement and configuration of hanging bird feeders. At first worked great with no feeder on top of polewith only two squirrel proof feeders hanging from pole hangers but when added open feeder on top of pole the squirrels used the squirrel proof feeders as step ladders.,Now have smaller hummingbird feeder that hangs higher above the baffle and the open feeder on top., so far it is prohibiting the squirrels. The quality is very good. The loose fitting design is so the animals will tip and slide off if they try to climb on top of baffle. For the person with the water running through when used hanging try placing a used CD over the top to close some of the opening. This is a very good product and I plan to purchase another. Much better than a smaller plastic baffle and it is attractive and doesn't look like a junk yard
Pros High quality, Durable, attractive
I would recommend this to a friend
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
works great for many feeders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender Male
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:February 11, 2014
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased in Feb 2014 and it works great for keeping squirrels out of my feeder. My model was all steel and no plastic. It works best with a single shepherd hood with a pole diameter of 3/8 to 1 inch (mounted 3 feet up the pole) or hanging from a wire/cord with the feeder mounted beneath. I read all reviews and the typical problem of the poor reviews seemed to be that no thought was given to how this baffle would fit their particular feeder. It will not work well on a 1+ inch post, double shepherd hood, as a bird feeder roof, or when placed next to a tree or structure where a squirrel can easily jump directly onto the feeder without engaging the baffle. In the situations where it fit, the scores were uniformly high. If you are not mechanically or spatially inclined, have a friend or someone help you evaluate this purchase for your intended purposes and layout. The negative that I have for this product is minor - the hanging hook option is slightly flawed because the center of the hook is off-center to the weight of the hook and the baffle. This causes the baffle to lean about 15 degrees beyond horizontal. This can be corrected by attaching something magnetic to the high underside of the baffle or by bending the double hooks to change the pivot point of the hooks (which may be difficult).
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PridesAngel03
Raleigh, NC
Squirrel Baffle
Posted June 6, 2014
Can you send a pic of how you've attached to your bird feeder pole? Squirrels have finally figured out how to get to my new bird feeder. Didn't take those slick little critters long to figure it out either! Please email pic with subject line "Squirrel Baffle" to etranger@bellsout,net.
Thanks Bunches!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Baffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Moultrie, GA, USA
Gender Female
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:May 21, 2012
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The squirrels can't get a good foot hold and slide off my bird feeder. Just don't put your feeder hear another feeder or tree limb where they can jump onto your feeder. They are smart little creatures!
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
This Baffle Really Works in Stopping the Squirrels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Morganton, North Carolina
Gender Male
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:August 16, 2013
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had recently bought what I thought would be as near a squirrel-proof bird feeder as possible. It seemed to be for a while, but the squirrels figured it out. A friend suggested this baffle, and I remembered I had one similar years ago and how well it worked. Well, it's been up for a month now. During the first week I watched the squirrels come up to the feeder post. They looked from all sides at that baffle, tried to climb the pole and see how they could possibly get by it, but with no success. I have not even seen a squirrel near my bird feeder in over 3 weeks now. To tell you the truth, I have not seen one even in my yard. I am convinced this baffle is and will be the cure for my squirrel problems. It really works.
Pros High quality, Durable, effective
I would recommend this to a friend
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Perfect for what it is used for
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Elizabethton, TN, USA
Gender Female
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 17, 2013
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had problems with the squirrels getting into the bird feeder and eating all the sunflower seeds...I bought this and it keeps them from climbing the pole I have it on...now they jump onto the feeder however I just bought another one for the top of the feeder and we will see how that works...it can be used both ways..
This one is perfect!
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Squirrel baffle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location:upstate, NY
Gender Male
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:July 2, 2012
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my needs. Squirrels can no longer climb the pole to my bird feeder.
Pros Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
A great product
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Pittsboro, NC, USA
Gender Female
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 27, 2013
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was having a terrible problem with the squirrels getting more of the seed from my bird feeder than the birds. I installed this shield and my problem was solved. No matter how they tried to get past the shield, they failed. Everyone is happy now including the squirrels - my birds share by "kicking" seed onto the ground.
Pros High quality, Durable
Cons not versatile
I would recommend this to a friend
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Keeps squirrel &chipmunk out of feeder
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Forest lake, pa
Gender Female
Age 65+
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 15, 2013
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liked this so much,we bought a second one. As long as you make sure the critters don't have jumping of point like tree or structure close enough to jump across to the feeder, the baffle does its job.
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Squirrel baffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Missouri, USA
Gender Female
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:July 10, 2013
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works GREAT!!! No more squirrel problems. They try, and pardon the pun, are quite baffled that they no longer can get to my feeders. I recommend this highly!
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
keeps the squirrels out (so far)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Franklin, TN, USA
Gender Female
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Beginner
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 25, 2013
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it has been so funny to watch the squirrels fall off of this
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Squirrel Baffle
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Dallas, TX, USA
Gender Female
Age 25-34
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Beginner
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 11, 2013
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been wonderful. Our bird feeder was contently being depleted by the squirrels in our area, but after getting this baffle they happily eat the seed that falls to the ground leaving the birds to enjoy the feeder in peace. If you have a problem with squirrels eating your bird seed I would highly recommend this product. It really works well.
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Best Purchase Ever
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Newport News, VA, USA
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Expert
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:September 2, 2014
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a problem with rats coming from next door. I did not know that I was feeding the rats and mice at night and the birds during the day, what a shock, I had to determine and come to a stop of feeding the rats, so went to Lowe's in Williamsburg , VA. and saw this Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle, WOW, what a relived, no more rats, I see them through the window, an see them contemplating and plotting of how they are going to get to the seeds.,, Well you know what they CAN'T ... So it is great that lowe's carried something like this..I don't mind feeding the squirrels, but not the rats..
Pros High quality
Cons black color
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Not Perfect but close
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:NW , TN
Gender Male
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:April 23, 2014
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The most determined acrobatic may make it onto the bird feeder depending on your feeder. Mine is a tall light house so as they fall past they sometimes can snag the edge. My wife and I watched the same squirrel try four times before he made it onto the feeder. By that time we felt that he earned a lunch.
Lowe's price for us was $10 less than the same product at other local stores.
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Best squirrel baffler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Missouri City, TX, USA
Gender Female
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: 3-6 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Expert
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 25, 2013
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This squirrel baffler does its job of keeping the squirrels from climbing up the pole to get at the bird feeder. Simple and inexpensive.
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Hook does not stay in place when wind blows!
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:Pa
Gender Male
Age 35-44
Time of Purchase: 3-6 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:March 14, 2014
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This works well on poles but not with the hook. There is no way to keep the hook in place when its windy so the baffle and hook come off and blow away with the wind. Its great that its metal but it to bends when it hits the ground because the hook does not stay in place. Maybe a screw in hook would work better. Over all a Good Product
Pros Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
incomplete
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location:Hickory, NC, USA
Gender Female
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Expert
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:July 8, 2013
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is good and will most likely suit its purpose. The problem is that it didn't come with any notification that it only fit a certain sized post. It's very easy to put together, but it was too big for the bird feeder post we have and there wasn't a collar to insert into the attachment mechanism. We would not have purchased that particular baffle had a size been noted on the package. Otherwise, I'm sure it's great!
Pros Durable, good size
Cons not adjustable
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Ineffective
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location:Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Time of Purchase: within last month
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:July 10, 2013
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this product to stop squirrels from getting to my bird feeder suspended from a shepherd's crook. Unfortunately, squirrels are smarter than I because instead of climbing the shepherd's crook to the top and trying to approach the bird from that direction, they simply climbed part of the way up the shepherd's crook and then simply jumped over to the bird feeder effectively bypassing the cap. Oh well.
I would not recommend this to a friend
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Squirrel Baffle
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location:Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Gender Female
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Beginner
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:September 26, 2013
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's made for larger poles. I had to use cloth to make the screws tight enough to keep the baffle up on my small wrought iron pole. I wanted to move it to another wrought iron pole that was much larger and taller, but the pole has two arms so it can't go over the top, and the bottom that goes into the ground of the pole has 2 prongs, so the baffle won't go on that way either.
Pros High quality, Durable
Cons design problem
I would not recommend this to a friend
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Bird Feeder Squirrel Baffle
Good but doesn't stop the squirrels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:Temple, TX, USA
Gender Male
Age 35-44
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:June 7, 2014
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We thought it was great till we woke up and caught squirrels inside the bird feeder again
Pros Durable
Cons did not stop th
I would not recommend this to a friend
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next >>