Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lowe's.

Gladiator 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet

Heavy-duty steel construction 2 Adjustable shelves Magnetic door latch Tread Plate doors
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Review 1 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Good design and nice cabinet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:March 20, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These cabinets are well designed and well thought out. They are designed so it is very difficult to put them together incorrectly. That is evidence of a good design. They are well thought out because except for a Phillips screwdriver and a 1/2" wrench, everything is provided - including some extra hardware. That is something that always impresses me - having a couple of screws or nuts, etc. left over. That can come in handy if you lose one or need one later. A very nice touch.
The cabinets went together easily and are very sturdy and very handsome.
The only complaint I have is very minor - the doors do not seem to close as flush as the other Gladiator cabinets I've built.
Some one complained about the hardware. I found it to be very good. The #10 screws are sometimes a challenge to start, but I had no problem with the carriage bolts.
Overall, they are very good cabinets and not difficult to assemble.
Pros High quality, nice looking, good design
I would recommend this to a friend
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Great Cabinet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Ohio
Level of Expertise: Beginner
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:May 2, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i researched multiple style cabinets and chose the Gladiator wall cabinets and was glad I did. they look great & are very sturdy. They were easy to assemble and easy to hang on the gear track channels. Best of all it looks like it was done by a professional. in addition to these 8 cabinets I also added two 45" gear loft shelves for the larger items and have ordered two of the large wall cabinets to install as well. I highly recommend this product to anyone that is wanting to organize your garage. for the money, you can't beat this product.
Pros High quality, Durable, easy assembly, well designed
I would recommend this to a friend
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Great Cabinets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:WIndermere, Florida
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:March 13, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have purchased four (4) of these cabinets and assembly can be completed in 30 minutes after you get the hang of it. The #10 screw sometimes have a hard time with the threaded parts, just need to re-tap these holes to clean the paint out of the threads. Will purchase two (2) more of these and then the floor cabinets.
I would recommend this to a friend
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Great Cabinet!!
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Indianapolis, Indiana
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:January 2, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I assembled the cabinet in 1 1/2 hours. I am sure the next one will only take an hour. I mounted it to the garage wall prior to installing the shelves and the doors using four 5/16x1.5 inch hex screws with washers. For further strength the cabinet sits on a 1/x4 that is secured to the studs with three 2 inch construction screws per stud. The 3/16 bolts screwed right in during assembly. I like others had problems with the #10-32 bolt holes. I tapped those holes which cleaned the paint out of the threads, then I had no problems. My recommendation is to retap the #10 threaded holes prior to any assembly. Next will be the 6 foot by 3 foot wide floor cabinet. Lowes had a special on the two cabinets which equated to a 25% discount!
Pros High quality, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Good looking, iffy quality, poor customer service
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location:Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Gender Male
Age 25-34
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:July 6, 2012
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased 4 of these cabinets for my garage but left them unopened in their packaging until I could get around to my garage renovation. When I got around to opening the well insulated boxes I discovered that two of them had dents in the bottom edge. The dents actually originate out from the inside of the cabinets so it couldn't have been damage from shipping. Also, the black "hammered granite" coating that they spray on the cabinet was undamaged meaning that the dents must have occurred prior to the coating application. I emailed gladiator customer service about the damage and was told that they would replace the damaged parts at no cost and to call their phone line to get them ordered. Unfortunately when I called them they proceeded to inform me that there was nothing they could do. Its extremely irritating that I purchased brand new cabinets only to discover that they're damaged and gladiator won't stand by their product. The cabinet themselves look great and I've received several compliments on them. If you order some just hope that yours don't arrive damaged.
Pros looks good
Cons Low quality
I would not recommend this to a friend
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Durable cabinet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Gallatin, TN, USA
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:July 23, 2012
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the cabinet on-line and picked up in an area store. The cabinet was easy to assemble and easier to hang. I used the GearTrack strips for the mounting.
The cabinet is solid and looks good in the garage. I plan to purchase more of the Gladiator products as I get my garage organized and cleaned up.
The only negative is I think the pricing is a little stiff for a simple cabinet.
Pros High quality, Durable
Cons cost
I would recommend this to a friend
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Got 6 of these free with purchase
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Nashville, TN, USA
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:January 7, 2012
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Custom workbench and overhead storage using six 28"x28"x12"
These are nice, got 6 on a Lowes Gladiator promotion. One for each large cabinet free. Three were wall hung, and three were built into a custom work bench with more storage behind workbench. They are nice, sturdy, and looks good with the custom work bench my friend Gary made. The wheels he used are more sturdy than the wheels that came with the Gladiator tool storage.
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Did it Again
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:Dublin, OH, USA
Gender Male
Age 65+
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:December 14, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I installed 2 cabinets in my workshop 7 years ago, and I liked them so much, that I bought 2 of them again after we moved to a new house. This time I assembled them myself. It was very easy, the directions were very clear, and all the pieces fit together nicely. This is a well designed and manufactured product.
Pros High quality, Durable, easy assembly
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Great addition to the floor cabinets
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location:South Carolina
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:August 19, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the floor cabinet several weeks ago and needing more storage I selected this wall unit. It took about one hour to assemble. The only advice I could give anyone is to have a set of taps handy to remove the paint from the screw holes.
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
decent cabinet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:19440
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:June 26, 2011
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this as part of a "buy a big one get a little one free" deal. Its a good design. Despite the fact that its a light sheet metal product thought was put into the shape and fit of the panels so that there is strength in the assembled unit. I discovered that it is a good idea to tap the 10-32 threads. You can force them if you wish but its really not the best idea. Assembly is intuitive, you really dont need the manual. I didnt know what I was going to do with it when I got it but now I think I will get their track system and hang it on the wall.
Pros good design
Cons should be 10-24
I would recommend this to a friend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Witholding judgment for now
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location:Beckley, WV
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:January 2, 2011
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased 12 of these units.....started putting together....some holes had to be made larger to screw in screws, several doors were bent or damaged even though the boxes were not and then two of the base cabinets did not match - either got two left sides or two right sides, so am having to take back and replace. Very frustrating...have not gotten to the large and Xlarge cabinets yet to put together. Has taken about an hour a piece for each wall cabinet/base cabinet. Most of that time has been trying to decide why they didn't go together (holes drilled wrong and did not match up). They are nice looking and hopefully I will get straightened out. I am calling Gladiator to voice my disapointment for now and to have two doors replaced that were badly bent. Most of the Lowes within a 50 mile radius are sold out. So am having to go farther to trade these two back in for two more. Just hate to put something together only to find out something is defective or missing! Plus having to load back up and go exchange. In a time cruch with someone we're paying to install.....so needed now!
Pros Durable
Cons some defective
I would recommend this to a friend
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Decent
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:PHX
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:July 7, 2011
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent product. Sheet metal is pretty flimsy and doesn't feel very "high quality", even when assembled. The shelves will flex with heavier items (10-15#). Overall a decent buy and I am satisfied with them. Perhaps the best characteristic is the appearance - they are very sharp looking. Too bad they are not made from thicker metal, or they would be outstanding.
Pros good looking
Cons flimsy
I would recommend this to a friend
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Cheap Foreign Over Priced!!
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location:NE
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:February 18, 2011
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My wife purchased two of these for X-Mas. Well a year plus later I finally put them together and the fact that you have to buy backer board(s) two one for the top and bottom in order for it to be level is a waste. The most disturbing thing was one of the stove bolts (low grade) that hold the thing on the wall actually broke in half.
Pros metal
Cons Low quality
I would not recommend this to a friend
-10points
3of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Good Purchase
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:new jersey
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Verified Purchaser Yes
Date:October 1, 2012
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brought this one on clearance sale, much less than the regular price.
Pros Durable
I would not recommend this to a friend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Nice cabinet, especially for free
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:Dallas, TX, USA
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:December 19, 2011
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this free with the purchase of a tall cabinet. Not as sturdy as the 30X30 (that was pre-assembled) but no complaints about this one. Went together easily and seems sturdy.
Pros Durable
I would recommend this to a friend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 28"H x 28"W x 12"D Metal Garage Cabinet
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5