Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Lowe's.

Spectracide 16 Oz. Stump Remover

Accelerates stump decompositionWill not burn surrounding vegetationEasy-to-use applicatorIdeal for use with Spectracide Brush Killer
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
2 out of 6(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
Review 1 for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
16 oz stump remover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location:rockvale tn
Level of Expertise: Beginner
Date:July 3, 2011
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
followed directions and saw within two weeks stumps rotten away in one month stump was basically gone
leaving just a very little underground. two months totally gone. Before this the hackberry stump was trying to grow saplings. well worth the money.
Pros High quality
I would recommend this to a friend
+28points
38of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
Worthless for stumps, good for making smoke bombs
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location:Pleasantville
Gender Male
Age 65+
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:May 29, 2012
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was utterly useless in my attempt to deal with a large hardwood stump. Don't waste your time or money on it for that purpose. I ended up renting a grinder (which are very expensive by the way).
On the other hand, since it is apparently nothing but potassium nitrate, it is useful in making home made smoke bombs. I made some real nice ones with this.
I would not recommend this to a friend
+20points
28of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
Waste of money and much time
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location:Canton, GA, USA
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: 6-12 months ago
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Expert
Date:October 11, 2012
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought 8 bottles and used them over 8 months on a set of 5 large and small stumps... followed directions, drilling large deep holes. repeated applications. But in the end spent $250 on a stump grinder. I may have made his job easier, but at my expense. So much time spent dealing with this. Kudos to Lowes for refunding me.
I would not recommend this to a friend
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
great stump remover, if used properly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Date:September 1, 2011
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well, anyone that knows the old school way to remove stumps has used this product, they just called it saltpeter. Drill the stump full of holes, toss this in the holes, drench it in kerosene, let it sit for a week, come back, add more fuel, light and let it burn. The saltpeter provides oxygen for the fire that it would not get below the dirt line so the fire will stay lit. BE CAREFUL. A good sized stump can burn for while, under ground, and forgotten!!!
I would recommend this to a friend
+15points
36of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
Didn't work on a simple stump
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location:Sugar Land, TX, USA
Gender Male
Age 55-65
Time of Purchase: 1-3 months ago
Place of Purchase: in store
Level of Expertise: Intermediate
Date:May 22, 2012
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have two oleander stumps which are nothing like a hardwood stump or even a pine tree stump. I bought two bottles one for each stump. I drilled holes all thru the two stumps and poured in the powder. After a week, the stumps were producing sprouts. I sprayed the sprouts with Roundup which killed the sprouts (Roundup won't kill stumps). After another week, more sprouts. I did the same thing. After a month both stumps are still producing sprouts. i'm glad I only spent a $12 and not more.
Cons Low quality, doesn't work
I would not recommend this to a friend
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 16 Oz. Stump Remover
isn't a stump killer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location:Oklahoma city, OK
Gender Male
Age 45-54
Time of Purchase: within last month
Place of Purchase: online
Level of Expertise: Beginner
Date:June 11, 2012
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product came up when I searched for "Stump killer." It is not a stump killer. It helps rot the already-dead stump to make it easier to remove, burn, etc. I am not sure whether this product will work as intended or not. It is not meant as an incendiary accelerator, either, as another review stated. Oh well.... OOPS!
Cons searched wrong
I would not recommend this to a friend
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.